Federal Agencies


The Small Business Administration (SBA)

APEG’s forest and wood products program is funded through an SBA Regional Innovation Cluster initiative.   The agency offers a variety of supporting programs to encourage entrepreneurship and small businesses.

Appalachian Regional Commission

APEG and the Governor’s Office of Appalachia works with the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) in Washington, D.C. and with various local entities to promote the region’s assets and support initiatives that positively increase the economic activity of the region.

The Appalachian Regional Commission is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local governments. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. Local participation is provided through multi-county Local Development Districts, including four Local Development Districts in Ohio.