Entrepreneurship Partners

In the spirit of rural American and the Appalachian culture of sharing and support there are many organizations in the region that are devoted to supporting entrepreneurship in the Appalachian Partnership counties.


ACEnet staff provide a variety of sector-specific services to start-up and expansion businesses including assistance with business planning, product development, marketing, financial management and accessing capital.   They have special expertise in the food sector and manage a shared-use kitchen.  


MCBI helps entrepreneurs in the APEG region move their product or business idea to the next level.  For most startup businesses, the product idea is the entrepreneur’s focus, not the business aspects of it.  MCBI helps the entrepreneur get that product to market through a variety of services including:  business plan development, value proposition testing, prototype development, investment readiness, market testing, product soft launching and sales/marketing plan development.

Ohio University Innovation Center

The Innovation Center provides an entrepreneurial ecosystem dedicated to helping new businesses with office space, advisers and coaches, an equipped wet lab and 3D printing.


SCORE offers free, confidential mentoring for entrepreneurs who are starting or growing their small business.  Expert consulting and educational workshops are provided by active and retired business men and women.

Small Business Development Center (SBDC)  

Ohio SBDC of South East Ohio  provides business consulting for companies working on a business idea, in the start-up stages or existing businesses who want to grow.  Based at Ohio University, this Center serves these APEG counties:  Athens, Belmont, Guernsey, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry and Washington.

Ohio SBDC at the OSU South Center offers comprehensive business management and education services including free, confidential, in-depth, one-on-one counseling and low-or no-cost training.  This Center serves these APEG counties:  Adams, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton. 

Ohio SBDC at Kent State Tuscarawas provides services to assist small businesses as they move through all stages of business development from idea, through start-up, development and into growth and expansion.  This Center serves these APEG counties:  Carroll, Coshocton, Harrison, Holmes and Jefferson.

 TechGROWTH Ohio

TechGROWTH Ohio offers entrepreneurs and technology start-up companies in southeast Ohio access to business assistance and sources of capital.  The effort is a partnership between Ohio University and Ohio Third Frontier.