Economic Development

Local Economic Development Organizations

Each APEG county has a staffed position whose focus is economic development for the county.  The names over the organizations differ; some are Port Authorities, others are Community Improvement Councils (CICs) and other have unique names.

These individuals and organizations are key to attracting new businesses and growing existing businesses.  They know their county best and are charged to have a vast array of information including details on available sites, labor pools, logistics and utilities in their respective county needed for attracting a new company.

They also know the businesses already in their area and are part of the network of support reaching out help existing companies grow and thrive

Find detailed information about the counties and how to contact them.

Regional Development Organizations

Buckeye Hills
Buckeye Hills – Hocking Valley Regional Development District helps local communities work together to cooperatively improve the region. A voluntary organization of local government political subdivisions, Buckeye Hills serves eight counties within the APEG region. They assist with securing financial resources to translate ideas into action. The counties they serve include Athens, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Perry and Washington.

OMEGA is Ohio Mid-Eastern Government’s Association, a collaborative body of member governments that serves as a facilitator between state and federal government agencies and local entities to provide opportunities in economic and community development through networking, education, planning, research, and allocation of resources. OMEGA serves ten counties within our region: Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Muskingum and Tuscarawas.

Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission
Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission (OVRDC) is a public regional planning commission established coordinate federal, state and local resources to encourage development in 12 southern Ohio counties: Adams, Brown, Clermont, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton.


Find entrepreneurship partners here.